Home Forums General Discussion Programming session video

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

From the latest post on the homepage…

PS. I'm thinking about recording a video of a short programming session, showing how I work with the pretty big and complex C++ codebase, hopefully with some tips and good advice. Is anyone interested?

Yes, I'm absolutely interested in this. A little bit of background about me…

I am an audio systems engineer and I do a lot of system design work. This involves circuit design, PCB layout, 8-bit/32-bit microcontroller firmware coding (typically 8051 assembly or C), USB integration, and graphical user interface design (typically C# .NET), among other things. I'm even getting started on iOS and Android development to have smartphone interfaces to the hardware I build. So, I'm no stranger to coding.

However, when it comes to game programming, I typically use a canned solution like GameMaker or Unity. In those engines, you are basically scripting on top of an existing framework and you're not really doing the low-level stuff yourself. So, a lot of the basic stuff is abstracted away from what you're doing.

I've always been curious about seeing a developer in action when they're working on a C++ program that they've coded from the ground up. I know that there are a lot of open source projects out there, but I never know what compiler or IDE to get and how to get all of that stuff set up… and when I browse the source code of open source games, I usually have a really hard time navigating to anything I can make sense of. Even though I understand programming just fine, I have a lot of trouble diving into somebody else's code and figuring out how it is structured.

So, yeah, I might be the only one… but I would be very interested to see you just do a screen capture of some development and watch you work. This sort of format would interest me: